Douglass Debate Society

Malcolm“Standing up there, the faces looking at me, the things in my head coming out of my mouth, while my brain searched for the next best thing to follow what I was saying, and if I could sway them to my side by handling it right, then I had won the debate – once my feet got wet I was gone on debating.” —Malcolm X


Frederick Douglass Debate Society

Douglass Debate Society at 2016 System-wide tournament

The Douglass Debate Society is designed to increase the engagement of first-generation, low income, and students of color in high-impact educational opportunities. The Society encourages students to think deeply and critically about contemporary issues and policies that have high significance to communities across the Commonwealth and communities of color, and provides opportunities for debaters to develop leadership, public speaking and advocacy skills that are cornerstones to engaged citizenship.

To find out more, contact the coaches and directors at the following universities:

Bloomsburg University of PA
Brian Johnson, FDI Director
Dr. Shavonne Shorter, Coach
sshorter@bloomu.edu
 Indiana University of PA
Dr. Veronica Watson, FDI Director

Dr. Mary MacLeod, Coach
mmacleod@iup.edu
East Stroudsburg University of PA
Dr. Storm Heter, Coach
sheter@po-box.esu.edu
Millersville University of PA
Dr. Rita Wade-El, FDI Director

Dr. Diane Umble, Coach
Diane.Umble@millersville.edu
Dr. David Donovan, Coach
David.Donovan@millersville.edu
Theresa.Russell-Loretz, Coach
Theresa.Russell-Loretz@millersville.edu
Edinboro University of PA
Dr. Margaret Smith, FDI Director
Dr. Ronald Raymond, Coach
rraymond@edinboro.edu
Shippensburg University of PA
Dr. Sharnine Herbert, Coach
FDI@ship.edu